Christopaganism – echoes of the feral


I seem to be having a time of being bombarded with crossovers between paganism and christianity. The month of May has always been poignant for me with its celebration of Beltane – the first summer night and the welcoming of the May queen (or Mary as I like to think). The burst of spring in its fullest with the May flower in bloom, new borns everywhere and the general waking up of the earth speaks soo deeply to me. There is resonance which fills my being and brings new hopes and energy.
So I started the month with a song in which has the lyrics ‘Hail, hail the Queen of the May. Now is the season, now is the day. A time to laugh and time to play. Hail, Hail the Queen of the May!’ To me this just speaks of Mary, Mother of Christ in her fullness, creator and joy over being Mother carrying the Hope of Christ. Not sure how the two became connected in my head but there it is!

And next I’m sent a Celtic Christian ritual celebrating Beltane where I find perfect synergy between faith in Christ and deep knowing of our connection to the earth. A celebration of Life, hope and beauty. I steal a verse and insert it neatly into the intercessions I read out at church. They liked it.
I find myself praying with lighted beeswax candles and praying the ignation prayer of desolation / consolation. All is good.
Yesterday, Steve Hollinghurst accepts my friend request on Facebook and instantly messages me with a welcome and then later a msg about joining his forum. This guy is now priested but was once a occultist into ritual magic. I look through my library of books and find I have a Grove booklet written by him on pagainsm and christianity.
Then today, my vicar of all people, emails me a link to new book out entitled “Christopaganism: An Inclusive Path” by Joyce and River Higginbotham. I order it out of delight, confusion and curiosity.
The need in me to connect with the wild and talk with Christ grows ever stronger…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ukviewer
    May 18, 2009 @ 19:34:00

    Well, this is a strange day, but it obviously delights you!!Now I understand the context of the blog title!Now, if Christopaganism is a word in the dictionary, I would love an explanation of it.

    Reply

  2. Emma
    May 18, 2009 @ 19:47:00

    Christopagan is a made up word. It expresses the merging of following Christ with pagan traditions.This website looks interesting: http://www.northernway.org/cpinfo.htmlI'm not a Christopagan btw, I don’t like labels!

    Reply

  3. ukviewer
    May 18, 2009 @ 20:36:00

    OK, now I understand, have visited the site as well.What is the ‘Feminine Devine’ all about? It it a feminist message to Christianity or a genuine way of seeing God?

    Reply

  4. Emma
    May 19, 2009 @ 19:01:00

    The web sites ideas about the Feminine are a little flaky but essentially the main points are the Hebrew language use female nouns when refering to the Holy Spirit, the use of woman characters in the Bible who are important to Christ’s journey. I have a few bullet points on my website feralxtian.co.uk
    EDIT 15/July/2012 – Feralxtian.co.uk is no longer live. I no longer agree with any of the ideas on Christo-paganism written about in this blog. I have grown spritiually away from this form of corrupted Christianity.

    Reply

  5. ukviewer
    May 20, 2009 @ 21:16:56

    OK, now I have read it, I can understand a little more.The concept is something that I can grasp, especially when nobody said that God was male, rather we have accepted due to the way things have been portrayed via both the OT and NT.Interesting! I am waiting for the more bit now!

    Reply

  6. Chris Fewings
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 08:01:22

    Gerard Hopkins wrote beautifully of Mary and May – and, more famously, of the “dearest freshness deep down things” and of “gleaning our Saviour” from the “lovely behaviour of silk-sack clouds”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

