Meeting with Acting DDO today


Fantastic meeting with the acting DDO! Been given a whole load of tasks to do. But the main cause of my happiness is that I’ve been given a registration form to fill in! And I was told I would be looking at going to BAP (Bishops Advisory Panel) at the end of this year! Then Training Sept 2010.

He was impressed that I came over as more confident today and that although he said he hadn’t written me off after our first meeting, he did think I’d need more time as I came over a little too unsure and anxious. I just briefly explained I had had healing prayer from J. John and that had had an affect of letting me finish with the past. Plus seeing him in November and thinking through over xmas had made my Calling become very real again. I guess I have focused my mind to the reality that I am a priest internally and I AM has Called me out to live my life as His servant. I didn’t tell the DDO that bit apart from I am very sure this is what I want to do.

Stuff he’s requested me to do:- (in no particular order)

1) get my daily prayer and bible reading pattern more set. He’s given me a few resources to help structure that, namely BRF bible reading notes, or Rejesus website, or scripture Union.

2) Set a pattern of reading. Told me to try reading ‘A Passionate Balance: The Anglican Tradition’ by Alan Bartlett. and ‘ Deep Calls to Deep: Going Further in Prayer’ by Dom David Foster. Make notes and reflect on reading done.

3) Go to College open days. He highly recomended Ripon College Cuddesdon for me or Westcott Cambridge. As i’m 36 and score 100 points on their system, I would most likely study for just 2yrs.

4) Fill in and return the Registration Form by the end of July. He said he only gives out the forms when the time is right!!

The new DDO starts Sep 13th and will be Georgina Burn. She’s been head of women’s ministry and been on the BAP. I think I may be meeting her in the nxt few months.

He explained more to me about the process, the writing of reports, four refferees (vicar, boss from work, member of church and one who know my academic abilities), DDO 7page report. So I can see now why everything takes such a long time.

He still thought the vocation weekend would be good for me to do even though I would be with people who are at the beginning of their journey where as I’m much further on…

So all is good! Yay!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. UKViewer
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 21:59:00

    Well, Emma,A most positive meeting and some real guidance for you at last.Filling out the form will be a task for you to think of everything they need – but hey, we both know you have got it, just needed them to switch on to it.Yay, indeed.

    Reply

  2. UKViewer
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 22:00:39

    As an after thought, any chance of a copy of the form, to allow me to see the nature of the questions asked.>

    Reply

  3. Emma
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 09:14:24

    Hi, The form can be download from here linkyBut please, do not get ahead of yourself. Use this for reference only. They will know when the time is right for you to be given one of these to fill in.PrayersEmma

    Reply

  4. UKViewer
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 18:17:38

    Emma, Thanks, as you say, only a reference, I have not even had time to look at it yet.Lots going on, and quite busy after a restful day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

